Morning Productivity

I’m happy that the first day of August started on a Monday. It gives a sense of stability and pattern to the month. It puts me at ease and acts as a kind of refresher. My plan was to wake up at 6:00am everyday this month and get something done before I set out to work. I awoke at 6:00am on Monday and then 7:20am on the two days following. Tuesday and wednesday’s sleep was nice and I had some wonderful, broken dreams, but sleeping doesn’t make art, at least not in the physical sense. Today I awoke at 6:00am, again. I’ve realised that the best way to actually stay disciplined to the alarm is to promptly get out of bed the minute you here the alert. Try to ignore the cold, or dreams, or the fact that your eyes still feel heavy and just get going. So now I’m sat here now, with my Earl Grey, feeling happy that I’m already making the most of the day. It’s already been decided that today is a blogging day, so there’s no pressure to create anything on paper just yet. Boards of Canada is filling the room and I can see the rain from my window. Looks like I’ll be wearing my mac today. 

Not long until the exhibition now. I’ve recently found out that a lot people are under the impression that this is an exhibition solely consisting of my work, but I am in fact submitting only the one drawing. I’ll post details of the dates and venue when I return from work, later today. In fact, speaking of work, in some ways my new job contributes to my artistic productivity. It enables me to have a balanced sleep pattern and there are regular times I can now set aside to get things done. Like the mornings, for example. This is my plan for the month…

6:00-6:15am Wake up, make a brew.
6:15-6:25am Check online art-related mail and social networking.
6:25-7:00am Blog/Draw/Project.
7:00-7:15am Breakfast
07:15-7:30am Wash/Dress/look… presentable(?)
7:30-8:00 More art…
8:00-8:15am – set off

Hats off to the people who spend longer than fifteen minutes getting dressed and looking fancy. The truth of the matter is that even if I spent an extra half-hour doing make-up or whatever, is that I’d probably look exactly the same anyway, as I really haven’t a clue about all that malarkey. Plus, I’d rather spend that extra thirty minutes painting and making art. If I can get through the whole of August and stick to my routine, then I’ll be okay. I’ll most likely be okay anyway, but I’ll feel better about stuff. Occasionally I wonder if my blogging is procrastination in disguise. After all, wouldn’t it be better to produce a picture? Journal writing, blogging and keeping records of daily routines is something I’ve always enjoyed, so I’m going to continue being guilt-free about the whole thing. 

Leave a Reply

